Today I had another important milestone - I drove a car in England. Yes, on the wrong side of the road, with the steering wheel on the right side. I used Zipcar for half a day to take my son to a golf party 20 miles from London. It would have taken us 2 hours and £15 one way(!) by public transport, compared to 40 minutes one way and a total of £42 (provided I will not get any fines and speeding tickets later) by a "car club" car.
Car club (e.g. Zipcar) is a nice feature, when you subscribe to a car renting service. You provide your data to the company, including a bank card to charge and a driving license scan, pay a monthly fee and can book a car, located in various parking spots across the whole London (and other European cities). The price for Zipcar in London for a VW Golf is £8.5 per hour including insurance and fuel.
You come to the parking spot by a certain time, unlock the car with a digital card or using an app on the smartphone, get in, find the keys, inspect the car for damages, report immediately if there are any and drive off. You have to return the car to the same place with the tank at least 1/4 full of fuel, and if you have to refuel it, there is a fuel card in the car, so you don't have to pay, it's just your rental time that you are "wasting".
What I was afraid of:
Car club (e.g. Zipcar) is a nice feature, when you subscribe to a car renting service. You provide your data to the company, including a bank card to charge and a driving license scan, pay a monthly fee and can book a car, located in various parking spots across the whole London (and other European cities). The price for Zipcar in London for a VW Golf is £8.5 per hour including insurance and fuel.
You come to the parking spot by a certain time, unlock the car with a digital card or using an app on the smartphone, get in, find the keys, inspect the car for damages, report immediately if there are any and drive off. You have to return the car to the same place with the tank at least 1/4 full of fuel, and if you have to refuel it, there is a fuel card in the car, so you don't have to pay, it's just your rental time that you are "wasting".
What I was afraid of:
- I won't be able to shift gears with my left hand! - so I took a car with automatic transmission
- I won't be able to turn on crossroads whatsoever! I might even get sick because it's all wrong sides! - so I read an article in the internet
"Driving for idiots""Driving tips for UK visitors" and went through the route on Google Maps Street View to know where the tough "right turn" places are - I won't be able to exit the roundabouts! I heard stories of people driving in circles endlessly unable to understand where they should turn to exit, having lost sense of direction.
- Angry and impolite drivers, that wouldn't let me in if I suddenly happen to be in the wrong lane (like turning instead of going straight).
What it turned out to be - as usually, difficulties arose not where I expected them to be:
- Hallelujah to automatic transmission! Even put aside worrying about left-handed gear shifting, my both hands were so busy clutching the steering wheel I wouldn't be able to shift gears with any hand.
- It took me a while to figure out why the key wouldn't come out of starter when I parked, turned out that I had to put the car into Parking mode before the car would allow me to leave it with the key in my hand.
- With this left-right-side mess I went totally dumb looking at the electronic handbrake - a button, that I had to press along with pressing the brake pedal. I couldn't remember whether I should pull it up or press down. So, I pressed the brake pedal, and my son pressed the magic button - and it worked.
- Turns were easy. Basically, if I entered the main road, I just looked both ways. I also looked where the cars drove to be sure where I should land after the turn. I kept saying aloud to myself at every crossroad "OK, I am turning left now, it's an easy turn, just keep left". And another funny thing that helped me is I told myself that normally my side of the car is never next to the curb. My right shoulder should always be facing the road axis line. It helped alot.
- Highways and big roads were really easy. Lanes are marked, crossroads are marked, traffic was existent, so on the crossroads I just followed the trajectory of the car in front of me. Before complex manoeuvres (like two-level highway junctions) I said out aloud where I am going, and took the appropriate lane beforehand.
- On quieter roads, where there were no help from cars or markings I just drove very slowly thinking my next step every time. There were very little quiet roads in my part of London today, so it wasn't an issue at all.
- I couldn't really understand what was the problem with roundabouts. Somehow it was pretty natural, just the other way around. :) However, I must say that roundabouts are considered complex in every part of the world, and I have never had any problems with them, even when learning how to drive. And I am really happy about that, because there are LOTS of roundabouts in London.
- Angry drivers turned out to be another false fear of mine. Either all of them were indulgent to my newbie driving because of Saturday, or it's not true at all, but I was let into the lane when I missed the right one, and I got honked at only once, when I literally stopped in the middle of the small road looking at the screen trying to figure out which way to go. I'd honk myself too!
- I missed a scratch on the door, and, if you report it, you have to call in and report it in the first 5-10 mins of your booking time to prove it's not your scratch you are reporting. I noticed it just when I arrived at the place, so now I hope I won't get charged for it.
- I was some minutes late with returning the car. Since there was another reservation immediately after mine, I couldn't extend my booking, but luckily, when I called in I was told I won't be fined for such a small delay. Phew!

No comments:
Post a Comment
Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.